Montgomery County Maryland Forestry Board

Montgomery County Forest Conservancy
District Board

History & Board Members


89,318 acres, or over 28% of Montgomery County is forested. Forest land open to the public in Montgomery County includes Seneca Creek and Patuxent State Park; Damascus, Little Bennett, Rock Creek and Black Hill Regional Parks of the Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Commission (MNCPPC); and over 25 stream valley parks also administered by the MNCPPC. There are 25 certified Tree Farms in Montgomery County covering 1500 acres. Another 1,000 acres are managed under the Department of Natural Resource Forest Conservation and Management Program. Ten members of the Maryland Association of Christmas Tree Growers are located in Montgomery County, earning income from their land and providing holiday enjoyment for hundreds of families.

Each year an average of 12 property owners totaling 315 acres have forest management plans written for their forest lands in Montgomery County. We all benefit through better management of the resources, and the property owners receive the benefits of reduced property taxes. Average annual reforestation in the County exceeds 220 acres. Primary Forest Productions Industries in Montgomery County produce hardwood and softwood lumber, pulpwood, paper products, veneer logs, mulch and firewood. Employment in Secondary Wood Products Industries for Montgomery County exceeds 656 and includes manufactures of cabinets, pallets, boats, picture frames, toys, birdhouse and packaging crates. In an average year private forest landowners conduct forestry operations on over 30 acres, producing over 1,000,000 board feet of lumber to local mills. An annual earnings of the primary and secondary forest products industries in Montgomery County exceeds $10,000,000.



Jim Harris - Chairman - Arborist/Urban Forester
Linda Pepe - Vice-Chairman - County Resident Member
Joli McCathran - Treasurer - County Resident Member

Carole Bergmann - County Resident Member
Stan Fisher - County Resident Member
Eddie Franceschi - Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

Dave Honchalk - Emeritus Member
Joe Howard - County Resident Member
Laurie Jenkins - Montgomery County Public Schools

Marty Kelly - Kelly Landscaping
Norman King III - Discount Tree Service, Inc.
Dan Landry - Pepco, an Exelon Company
Daniel Lewis - Ex Officio Member, Dept. of Natural Resources
Laura Miller - Montgomery County Dept. of Environmental Protection
Wayne Noll - City of Rockville
Dominic Quattrocchi - Private Citizen/County Resident

Pete Stadler - Emeritus Member, Stadler Nursery

Web Hosting Companies